top of page
Search

I am, to you. a letter to diet culture

I am, to you

a "before"

the picture which disgusts you pinned to your fridge

the woman who let herself go

gluttonous, weak, too self indulgent

a challenge to win over - "she surely can't like the way she looks, right?!"

the body you avoid resembling

at all costs.

the one you ask on a date, for a joke

the picture of anti-health

another purse to fall open, as you dig harshly into another of my insecurities

the ones you have taught me to hide, or fix

or remove.

the target for your next transformation plan

the body that needs transforming


I am, in fact

worthy beyond any measure of pounds, inches, or calories

proud of the vast weight of my power

refusing

refusing to shrink or be consumed

for your sake

saying no.

not saying sorry.

Living.





Image was a commission drawn by "Linear Bodies" in 2020.



99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blip.

bottom of page